top of page
IMG_0574.JPG

ALLERGENS & DIETARY REQUIREMENTS

Last Updated: 20/05/2023

If you have a Food Allergy or Intolerance, it is important that you have the information you need to make safe food choices.
The 14 allergens are: Celery, Cereals containing Gluten (such as barley and oats), Crustaceans (such as prawns, crabs and lobsters), Eggs, Fish, Lupin, Milk, Molluscs (such as mussels and oysters), Mustard, Peanuts, Sesame, Soybeans, Sulphur Dioxide and Sulphites (at a concentration of more than ten parts per million) and Nuts (such as almonds, hazelnuts, walnuts, brazil nuts, cashews, pecans, pistachios and macadamia nuts).

If you are allergic to ingredients not included in the 14 allergens, you should always check the label or ask staff for information about your specific food allergen.

When you eat out or order a takeaway, the restaurant or café must provide you with allergen information. This could be, for example, allergen information on their menu or a prompt explaining how you can obtain this information. This may include advice that you ask a member of staff about the allergen contents of a dish you might want to order.
When you buy vegan food, you might not expect it to contain any trace amounts of milk, egg, fish, crustaceans and molluscs. However, trace amounts of cross contamination can occur when vegan food is produced in a factory or kitchen that also handles non-vegan food.

This is why packaging for some vegan products sometimes include precautionary allergen labelling such as ‘may contain’. This means the products could include traces of allergens such as milk, eggs, fish, molluscs and crustaceans, which could pose a risk if you have a food allergy to these.

It very important to read the label to see if the product is safe for you, even if it is a ‘vegan’ product. You should also be very clear about your allergy/intolerance when ordering vegan food while eating out, to ensure that the meal that is served is safe for you.

When you plan to eat out or order a takeaway, always check the menu online or call ahead to ask what their policy is on food allergy and intolerance.
Be clear about your allergy or intolerance when making your order and give examples of the foods that give you a reaction.

If you don’t feel the person you’re speaking to understands your needs, ask for the manager or someone who can help better.

You can ask:
Does the food business offer meals that are suitable for you?
If not, are the staff able to make a safe dish for you?
How is the food handled in the kitchen - is there a chance of allergen cross-contamination from cooking equipment or ingredients?
Has there been a last-minute recipe change or ingredient substitution?
Be careful if the restaurant serves complex dishes, as allergens can be less obvious or hidden in complicated recipes.

Food businesses must offer you allergen information but are not required to offer you an alternative meal to suit your need.

If you have any doubt about the staff understanding the importance of your dietary needs, do not eat there.
Ordering a takeaway meal is considered distance selling. With distance selling allergen information must be made available before the purchase of the food is completed (at the point of sale), and when the food is delivered. This can be in writing, through a website, catalogue, or menu, or orally by phone.

When ordering for several people, make sure to ask the restaurant to label each meal and container, so that you know which order is safe for you.


By accepting this, you have read and fully understand our Food Allergy & Dietary Requirements page and information along with this Agreement. You then have the personal responsibility to declare your Food Allergies & Dietary Requirements (Peanut Allergy, Halal, Vegan), or anybody else who is consuming our food on your order, to us when placing your order, so that arrangements can be made in regard to protecting you and preparing your meal safely. Your order may be refused if we are unable to accommodate your requirements.

We at Blue Oak Bistro, try our best to ensure that products are suitable for as many of our customers as possible, which is why if you are Vegan/Vegetarian then you need to notify us immediately, we can then accommodate you by removing certain ingredients of some Sushi to make them suitable, the reason we say this, is because most of our vegetarian Sushi normally will have Kewpie Mayonnaise which is made with our Free-Range Eggs, to make them suitable for Vegans, all we need to do is omit the Kewpie Mayonnaise from the order to make it suitable for Vegans.

All allergies are treated with a strict food safety policy in our kitchen, we use separate equipment which we de-contaminate after each use to minimise any and all risks.

Our Soy Sauce is listed as Gluten-Free.


However no matter how diligent we are with suppliers and with checking products information, some products still mention they are manufactured on lines where other ingredients may have cross-contaminated during manufacturing, not just that but due to the nature of some ingredients, we are unable to cater for some allergies because of the ingredients we use, like Soya & Crustaceans.

So unfortunately, We are not able to cater right now for those with allergies to:

- Soya

- Fish

- Nut & Seeds

- Crustaceans/Molluscs/Shellfish

- Sulphites

- Peanut

- Sesame

- Wheat

- Egg

Due to being a high-risk group, we do advise that you check the NHS and Government websites for information with regards to eating Sushi products:

- Pregnant

- Elderly

- Vulnerable

- Young Children

If you are still unsure after the advice or require more information in regards to our products then please do not hesitate to contact us for more information about our products.

We can only apologise for the inconvenience to those with these allergies and hope that in the future we may be able to provide a meal suitable for you that accommodates those allergies in the future.

Below is a list of ingredients that we use in the kitchen that are known to have Allergens, those known allergens have been listed in bold text.

Roasted Seaweed (Crustaceans, Molluscs)

Kelp (Crustaceans, Molluscs, Soya, Sesame, Peanut, Nuts & Seeds)

Sushi Rice (Crustaceans, Sulphites, Molluscs, Soya, Sesame, Peanut, Nuts & Seeds)

Kewpie Mayonnaise/Spicy Kewpie (Crustaceans, Molluscs, Soya, Sesame, Peanut, Nuts & Seeds, Egg, Mustard)

Eel (Fish, Soya, Wheat, Sulphites)

Wasabi (Mustard)

Sushi Ginger (Ginger)

Shoyu Dip Sauce (Crustaceans, Molluscs, Sulphites, Soya, Sesame, Peanuts, Nuts & Seeds)

Nikiri Glaze (Crustaceans, Molluscs, Sulphites, Soya, Sesame, Peanuts, Nuts & Seeds)

Tamari (Soya)

Smoked Salmon (Fish)

Fresh Salmon (Fish)

Fresh Mackerel (Fish)

Prawns/Shrimps (Crustaceans)

Cream Cheese (Milk)

Hoisin Sauce (Soya, Wheat, Sesame, Molluscs, Peanut, Nuts & Seeds)

Unagi Eel Sauce (Crustaceans, Fish, Soya, Sulphites, Wheat, Molluscs, Sesame, Peanut, Nuts & Seeds)

Teriyaki Sauce (Crustaceans, Soya, Sulphites, Molluscs, Sesame, Peanut, Nuts & Seeds)

Imitation Crab (Wheat, Egg, Fish)

Shredded Chicken (Milk)

Shredded Duck (Milk)

Sesame Seeds (Sesame)

Masago (Fish, Soya, Wheat)

Tempura Flour (Wheat, Milk, Egg, Soya)

Octopus (Mollusc, Fish)

Takoyaki (Mollusc, Fish, Wheat, Egg, Soya,Crustaceans, Sesame, Peanut, Nuts & Seeds, Mustard)

Takoyaki Sauce (Soya, Wheat, Fish)

Tofu (Soya) If Deep-Fried Tofu then unsuitable for Gluten-Free.

Sea Bream (Fish),

Tamago (Egg, Fish, Crustaceans, Sulphites, Molluscs, Soya, Sesame, Peanut, Nuts & Seeds)

Crab (Crustaceans)

Katsuobushi / Skipjack Tuna Flakes (Fish)

Yellowfin Tuna (Fish)

Cooked Tuna Flakes (Fish)

Chicken & Beef Soup Base (Crustaceans, Egg, Molluscs, Soya, Sesame, Peanut, Nuts & Seeds, Milk, Mustard, Sulphur Dioxide, Fish)

Pork Soup Base (Crustaceans, Egg, Molluscs, Soya, Sesame, Peanut, Nuts & Seeds, Milk, Mustard, Sulphur Dioxide, Fish)

Shoyu Tamago (Egg, Soya, Sulphur Dioxide)

Noodles (Wheat)

Udon Noodles (Wheat)

Tare (For Ramen) (Soya, Fish, Crustaceans, Molluscs, Soya, Sesame, Peanut, Nuts & Seeds)

Ponzu Dip Sauce (Soya, Crustaceans, Molluscs, Soya, Sesame, Peanut, Nuts & Seeds, Sulphur Dioxide)

Sesame Oil (For Hot Foods) (Sesame)

Sesame Dip Sauce (Soya, Crustaceans, Molluscs, Soya, Sesame, Peanut, Nuts & Seeds, Sulphur Dioxide, Milk)

Hotpot (Soya, Crustaceans, Molluscs, Soya, Sesame, Peanut, Nuts & Seeds, Sulphur Dioxide)

Prawn Gyoza (Crustaceans, Wheat Gluten, Sesame, Egg, Soya, Celery)

Vegetable Gyoza (Wheat Gluten, Soya, Sulphur Dioxide, Eggs, Milk, Molluscs, Sesame)

Pork & Vegetable Gyoza (Wheat Gluten, Soya, Sesame, Egg, Fish, Crustaceans, Molluscs)

Chicken & Vegetable Gyoza (Wheat Gluten, Soya, Sesame, Eggs, Crustaceans, Celery)

Hot & Spicy Chicken Gyoza (Wheat Gluten, Soya, Sesame, Fish, Molluscs, Crustaceans)

Duck Gyoza (Wheat Gluten, Soya, Sesame, Eggs, Crustaceans, Celery)

For our Halal Customers, we also can provide information for you in regards to these products:

- Shredded Chicken (Not suitable for Halal from our Suppliers)

- Shredded Duck (Not suitable for Halal from our Suppliers)

- Eel (Not suitable for Halal due to Ingredients used in the Cooking process).

- Takoyaki Sauce (Not suitable for Halal due to Ingredients used in the Cooking process).

- Shio Ramen (Not Suitable for Halal due to Ingredients used in the Cooking process.)

- Shoyu Ramen (Not Suitable for Halal due to Ingredients used in the Cooking process.)

- Miso Ramen (Not Suitable for Halal due to Ingredients used in the Cooking process.)

- Tonkotsu (Not Suitable for Halal due to Ingredients used in the Cooking process.)

- All Beef Sushi including Wagyu products (Not Suitable for Halal from our Suppliers.)

- Pork & Vegetable Gyoza (Not Suitable for Halal due to Ingredients used in the Cooking process.)

- Chicken & Vegetable Gyoza (Not Suitable for Halal due to Ingredients used in the Cooking process.)

- Hot & Spicy Chicken Gyoza (Not Suitable for Halal due to Ingredients used in the Cooking process.)

- Duck Gyoza (Not Suitable for Halal due to Ingredients used in the Cooking process.)

Halloween

Sterilised Squid Ink is infused with the Sushi Rice, This is unsuitable for Allergies to Mollusc.

Squid Ink is listed as suitable for Vegetarians but the discussion around this is debatable due to the ethical concerns with how Squid Ink is harvested. Please research the industry and make the decision for yourself as to whether this is suitable for you or not. Squid Ink is considered to be suitable for Vegetarians in the same way Cheese is, Cheese contains Rennet and that would be considered unsuitable for some Vegetarians due to how it is harvested and then used. If you do have issues with this, then please let us know before placing your order.

Some fish scales, small fish bones and fragments of shells may be found in our products, whilst we take every care and effort to remove these, we can not guarantee that your product will be fully free of these, please take care during consumption.


This information is to be used as a guide only; whilst every effort has been taken to complete the list accurately the products may be subject to subsequent changes in allergen information, recipe or supplier. The Blue Oak Bistro does not accept liability for the consequences of such changes and advises customers to always check the ingredient list and allergen information on menus on all food and drink or speak with a staff member at the time of purchase to ensure the product is suitable for your dietary requirements.

Allergens & Dietary Requirements: About Us
bottom of page